Monday, 6 July 2009

Full Moon & Lunar Eclipse

The Full Moon occurs in Capricorn at 09.21 GMT (10.21 BST) on the 7th - so tonight is the best night to see it. There is a penumbral lunar eclipse at 09.39 GMT (10.39 BST) tomorrow. Before I go on, I will attempt to explain what a penumbral eclipse actually is!

A penumbral eclipse occurs when the moon passes through the earth’s penumbra. The outer or penumbral shadow is the zone where the Earth blocks part but not all of the Sun's rays from reaching the Moon (which at Full Moon is behind the Earth). As not all of the light is blocked from reaching the moon, the appearance of the moon does not change a great deal, and so Penumbral eclipses can be very subtle and often impossible to see.

There are lots of good websites with diagrams if you want to find out more...

The Sabian symbol for today (20 degrees Capricorn): A Relay Race

Short and to the point. I must say though, that my life has been feeling more and more like a relay race – just one continuous circuit going round and round and round…

Take some time to think about the symbol, and do try to meditate with the Full Moon.

Just for Information:

There are 360 symbolic images, known as the Sabian Symbols, associated to each of the 360 degrees of the zodiacal circle. They were given birth in San Diego, California, in 1925 by Marc Edmund Jones and Elsie Wheeler, an extraordinary clairvoyant. Today, the 360 symbols are widely used in astrology in order to gain a deeper understanding of the influence of a planet located at that degree.

I find them an extremely useful tool for meditation and to gain a deeper understanding of events in life…